Lazarus Gastronomique

Gluttony Rules

Raw Night In

with 2 comments

This is Round Two of raw eating, and it was a resounding success for dinner. I chose to make two quite incongruous dishes to put on a plate together: Zucchini Marinara and raw mashed “potatoes” (both recipes, again, from Choosing Raw). But what does it matter anyway? It’s all vegetables in the end, disguised as other things. I’m okay with that. I’m also okay with the gigantic mound of dishes afterwards, the vegetable bits that got all over the floor and with my insane raw garlic breath.

The first dish was easy: raw mashed “potatoes”, which is really a mixture of cauliflower and walnuts (or cashews) blended together, with olive oil, a clove of garlic and salt and pepper added in. I also added in a dash of golden flax seeds. It took no time at all, except while I was pushing down the cauliflower chunks into the blender blade with my wooden spoon, I knicked the spoon and a piece of wood landed somewhere in the “potatoes”. It’s possible I ate or am about to eat a not-small sliver of wood. Hm.

The zucchini marinara was a little more labor intensive. This recipe serves two:

1 very large red or yellow bell pepper, deseeded
¾ cup cherry or roma tomatoes
¼ cup sundried tomatoes
1 Tablespoon olive oil
¼ teaspoon salt
Generous sprinkle dried thyme
Generous sprinkle dried oregano
¼ cup basil

You throw it in the blender (minus the zucchini), and it becomes this totally fresh, basil-y sauce that you could put on almost anything, including actual pasta. The part that I hated was slicing up the zucchini as thinly as possible so it would resemble spaghetti–I don’t have a fancy mandolin, just my hands and some knives from Ikea. It was okay, though; I put Bad Brains on and sliced away.

Here’s the finished product!

I sprinkled some parmesan cheese on top. Sad face. Not exactly raw OR vegan (which raw eating always is!), but it’s still hard for me to imagine eating spaghetti without delicious parmesan. The whole thing was delicious! I wolfed it down, and was in agony afterwards because I was so full. I like thinking about the fact that I probably just consumed half an entire head of cauliflower, an entire red bell pepper, three tomatoes, and a few handfuls of walnuts and basil. It makes me laugh.

Written by notoriouslcm

October 18, 2009 at 7:46 AM

2 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Yay! Glad you enjoyed this :)

    Gena

    October 19, 2009 at 1:49 AM

  2. It looks great and sound yummy. I agree with you about the cheese on top. I can’t have “Italian” food without it!

    Allyson Beutke DeVito

    November 12, 2009 at 12:19 AM


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

